Author : Karen Speerstra
Publisher :
Release : 2014-08
Pages : 280
ISBN : 1611250234
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
Category : FAMILY & RELATIONSHIPS

READ FREE

DESCRIPTION : Based on the author's own experience,The Divine Art of Dying is about how we can die well and live well up to the very end of our physical existence. Combining personal stories with solid research on palliative and hospice care, the book looks at the unique moment when a person turns toward death and examines what the dying person and their caregivers can expect. Includes spiritual insights from many sources along with references from literature, movies, and current culture.

Author : Rob Moll
Publisher : InterVarsity Press
Release : 2013-11-21
Pages : 192
ISBN : 0830867171
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
Category : Religion

READ FREE

DESCRIPTION : In this well-researched and pastorally sensitive book, Rob Moll recovers the deeply Christian practice of dying well. For centuries Christians have prepared for the "good death" with particular rituals and spiritual disciplines that have directed the actions of both the living and the dying. Here Moll explores these traditions and provides insight into death and dying issues with in-person reporting and interviews with hospice workers, doctors, nurses, bioethicists, family members and spiritual caregivers

Author : Andrew Holleran
Publisher : Hyperion
Release : 2006-05-31
Pages : 160
ISBN : UOM:39015064741120
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
Category : Fiction

READ FREE

DESCRIPTION : In the tradition of Michael Cunningham's The Hours, a beautiful novel destined to become a classic Reeling from the recent death of his invalid mother, a worn, jaded professor comes to our nation's capital to recuperate from his loss. What he finds there -- in his repressed, lonely landlord, in the city's mood and architecture, and in the letters and journals of Mary Todd Lincoln -- shows him new, poignant truths about America, yearning, loneliness, and mourning itself. Since Andrew Holleran first burst onto the scene with 1978's groundbreaking Dancer from the Dance, which has been continuously in print, he has been dazzling readers and critics with his haunting, brilliant prose. The Publishing Triangle ranks Dancer from the Dance at #15 on its list of the 100 best lesbian and gay novels ever, along with titles by Marcel Proust and Virginia Woolf. A new Andrew Holleran book is a major literary event; with Grief, Holleran is poised to reach a wider audience than ever before.

Author : Sogyal Rinpoche
Publisher : Random House
Release : 2012-02-29
Pages : 464
ISBN : 9781448116959
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
Category : Body, Mind & Spirit

READ FREE

DESCRIPTION : 25th Anniversary Edition Over 3 Million Copies Sold 'I couldn't give this book a higher recommendation' BILLY CONNOLLY Written by the Buddhist meditation master and popular international speaker Sogyal Rinpoche, this highly acclaimed book clarifies the majestic vision of life and death that underlies the Tibetan Buddhist tradition. It includes not only a lucid, inspiring and complete introduction to the practice of meditation, but also advice on how to care for the dying with love and compassion, and how to bring them help of a spiritual kind. But there is much more besides in this classic work, which was written to inspire all who read it to begin the journey to enlightenment and so become 'servants of peace'.

Author : Nina Angela McKissock
Publisher : She Writes Press
Release : 2015-08-04
Pages : 256
ISBN : 9781631528095
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
Category : Biography & Autobiography

READ FREE

DESCRIPTION : Twenty-one people of different ages have one thing in common; they’re within six months of their deaths. They’ve endured the battle of the medical system as they sought cures for their illnesses, and are now settling in to die. Some reconcile, some don’t. Some are gracious, some not. As Nina Angela McKissock, a highly experienced hospice nurse, goes from home to home and within the residential hospice, she shares her journey of deep joy, humorous events, precious stories, and heartbreaking love. Free of religiosity, dogma, or fear, From Sun to Sun brings readers into McKissock’s world—and imparts the profound lessons she learns as she guides her beloved patients on their final journey.

Author : Losara
Publisher : Xlibris Corporation
Release : 2014-11-07
Pages : 372
ISBN : 9781499083279
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
Category : Body, Mind & Spirit

READ FREE

DESCRIPTION : In this age of endless debate over which scriptures contain the correct guidelines for living a righteous life, this book stands out as a breath of fresh air and intelligence. Based upon the universal laws, these answers to impossible questions rise above past misperceptions to reveal truth as it was meant to be understood: clear, pure, and wise. Presented here are some of the most controversial and poignant questions asked by man: —Is abortion a sin? —What causes cancer? —Who is right: the creationists or evolutionists? —Where is my soul mate? —Is there life on other planets? —Who was Jesus? —What is my purpose?

Author : OSHO
Publisher : Jaico Publishing House
Release : 2017-10-16
Pages : 296
ISBN : 9788184959666
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
Category : Religion

READ FREE

DESCRIPTION :

Author : Kathryn Mannix
Publisher : Little, Brown
Release : 2018-01-16
Pages : 352
ISBN : 9780316504539
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
Category : Self-Help

READ FREE

DESCRIPTION : For readers of Atul Gawande and Paul Kalanithi, a palliative care doctor's breathtaking stories from 30 years spent caring for the dying. Modern medical technology is allowing us to live longer and fuller lives than ever before. And for the most part, that is good news. But with changes in the way we understand medicine come changes in the way we understand death. Once a familiar, peaceful, and gentle -- if sorrowful -- transition, death has come to be something from which we shield our eyes, as we prefer to fight desperately against it rather than accept its inevitability. Dr. Kathryn Mannix has studied and practiced palliative care for thirty years. In With the End in Mind, she shares beautifully crafted stories from a lifetime of caring for the dying, and makes a compelling case for the therapeutic power of approaching death not with trepidation, but with openness, clarity, and understanding. Weaving the details of her own experiences as a caregiver through stories of her patients, their families, and their distinctive lives, Dr. Mannix reacquaints us with the universal, but deeply personal, process of dying. With insightful meditations on life, death, and the space between them, With the End in Mind describes the possibility of meeting death gently, with forethought and preparation, and shows the unexpected beauty, dignity, and profound humanity of life coming to an end.

Author : Anita Moorjani
Publisher : Hay House, Inc
Release : 2012-03-01
Pages : 266
ISBN : 9781401937522
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
Category : Self-Help

READ FREE

DESCRIPTION : In this truly inspirational memoir, Anita Moorjani relates how, after fighting cancer for almost four years, her body began shutting down—overwhelmed by the malignant cells spreading throughout her system. As her organs failed, she entered into an extraordinary near-death experience where she realized her inherent worth . . . and the actual cause of her disease. Upon regaining consciousness, Anita found that her condition had improved so rapidly that she was released from the hospital within weeks—without a trace of cancer in her body! Within this enhanced e-book, Anita recounts—in words and on video—stories of her childhood in Hong Kong, her challenge to establish her career and find true love, as well as how she eventually ended up in that hospital bed where she defied all medical knowledge. In "Dying to Be Me," Anita Freely shares all she has learned about illness, healing, fear, "being love," and the true magnificence of each and every human being!

Author : Kathleen D. Singh
Publisher : Harper Collins
Release : 2013-08-06
Pages : 352
ISBN : 9780062316318
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
Category : Self-Help

READ FREE

DESCRIPTION : In this brilliantly conceived and beautifully written book, Kathleen Dowling Singh illuminates the profound psychological and spiritual transformations experiences by the dying as the natural process of death reconnects them with the source of their being. Examining the end of life in the light of current psychological understanding, religious wisdom, and compassionate medical science, The Grace of Dying offers a fresh, deeply comforting message of hope and courage as we contemplate the meaning of our mortality. While the prevailing Western medical tradition has seen death as an enemy to be fought and overcome, Singh offers a richer and more rewarding path of understanding. Combining extensive training and education in developmental psychology with profound spiritual insight, she balances expert analysis with moving accounts drawn from her experiences working with hundreds of dying patients at a large hospice. Singh moves beyond the five stages of dying revealed in KĂĽbler-Ross's classic On Death and Dying, and finds in the "nearing death experience" even more significant and forming stages of surrender and transcendence. These stages involve the qualities of grace: letting go, radiance, focusing inward, silence, a sense of the sacred, wisdom, intensity, and, in the end, a merging with Spirit. Through this intense process, we come to experience at last the reality of our true self, which transcends our finite ego and bodily existence, and our merging with the source of being from which we originated. Dying is safe. In clear, nontechnical language, Singh reveals the transformations that come with dying, using the vocabulary of growing Western, as well as Eastern, wisdom. Written for those aware that their life is coming to an end, those who care for the dying, and, ultimately, for all of us who inevitably face our owndeath and the deaths of the people we love, The Grace in Dying reveals that dying is the most transforming, powerful, and spiritually rich of life's experiences.