Responsive image
Author : Khaled Hosseini
Genre : Afghanistan
Publisher : A&C Black
ISBN_10 : 9781408852569
File Format : All Formats
File Download : 416
Price : FREE

So, then. You want a story and I will tell you one... Afghanistan, 1952. Abdullah and his sister Pari live in the small village of Shadbagh. To Abdullah, Pari, as beautiful and sweet-natured as the fairy for which she was named, is everything. More like a parent than a brother, Abdullah will do anything for her, even trading his only pair of shoes for a feather for her treasured collection. Each night they sleep together in their cot, their skulls touching, their limbs tangled. One day the siblings journey across the desert to Kabul with their father. Pari and Abdullah have no sense of the fate that awaits them there, for the event which unfolds will tear their lives apart; sometimes a finger must be cut to save the hand. Crossing generations and continents, moving from Kabul, to Paris, to San Francisco, to the Greek island of Tinos, Khaled Hosseini writes about the bonds that define us and shape our lives, and how the choices we make resonate through history.

Responsive image
Author : Khaled Hosseini
Genre : Fiction
Publisher : A&C Black
ISBN_10 : 9781408842423
File Format : All Formats
File Download : 404
Price : FREE

From the no. 1 bestselling author of The Kite Runner and A Thousand Splendid Suns, the book that readers everywhere have been waiting for: his first novel in six years.

Responsive image
Author : Khaled Hosseini
Genre : Fiction
Publisher : A&C Black
ISBN_10 : 9781408842447
File Format : All Formats
File Download : 416
Price : FREE

From the no. 1 bestselling author of The Kite Runner and A Thousand Splendid Suns A Richard & Judy Summer Book Club pick Ten-year-old Abdullah would do anything for his younger sister. In a life of poverty and struggle, with no mother to care for them, Pari is the only person who brings Abdullah happiness. For her, he will trade his only pair of shoes to give her a feather for her treasured collection. When their father sets off with Pari across the desert to Kabul in search of work, Abdullah is determined not to be separated from her. Neither brother nor sister know what this fateful journey will bring them. And the Mountains Echoed is a deeply moving epic of heartache, hope and, above all, the unbreakable bonds of love.

Responsive image
Author : Nadia Hashimi
Genre : Juvenile Fiction
Publisher : HarperCollins
ISBN_10 : 9780062421920
File Format : All Formats
File Download : 272
Price : FREE

Perfect for fans of Rita Williams-Garcia, Thanhha Lai, and Rebecca Stead, internationally bestselling author Nadia Hashimi’s first novel for young readers is a coming-of-age journey set in modern-day Afghanistan that explores life as a bacha posh—a preteen girl dressed as a boy. Obayda’s family is in need of some good fortune, and her aunt has an idea to bring the family luck—dress Obayda, the youngest of four sisters, as a boy, a bacha posh. Life in this in-between place is confusing, but once Obayda meets another bacha posh, everything changes. Their transformation won’t last forever, though—unless the two best friends can figure out a way to make it stick and make their newfound freedoms endure. Nadia Hashimi’s first novel for adults, The Pearl That Broke Its Shell, was a bestseller that shares a bacha posh character with One Half from the East.

Responsive image
Author : Khaled Hosseini
Genre : Fiction
Publisher : Bloomsbury Publishing
ISBN_10 : 9781526602701
File Format : All Formats
File Download : 64
Price : FREE

A Sunday Times and New York Times bestseller A deeply moving, gorgeously illustrated short story for people of all ages from the international bestselling author of The Kite Runner, brought to life by Dan Williams's beautiful illustrations 'The book may be brief, but it is beautiful, poetic – a distillation of his strengths' Sunday Times On a moonlit beach a father cradles his sleeping son as they wait for dawn to break and a boat to arrive. He speaks to his boy of the long summers of his childhood, recalling his grandfather's house in Syria, the stirring of olive trees in the breeze, the bleating of his grandmother's goat, the clanking of her cooking pots. And he remembers, too, the bustling city of Homs with its crowded lanes, its mosque and grand souk, in the days before the sky spat bombs and they had to flee. When the sun rises they and those around them will gather their possessions and embark on a perilous sea journey in search of a new home.

Responsive image
Author : Khaled Hosseini
Genre : Fiction
Publisher : A&C Black
ISBN_10 : 9781408824856
File Format : All Formats
File Download : 336
Price : FREE

Over 21 million copies sold worldwide

Responsive image
Author : Khaled Hosseini
Genre : Fiction
Publisher : A&C Black
ISBN_10 : 9780747585893
File Format : All Formats
File Download : 419
Price : FREE

A riveting and powerful story of an unforgiving time, an unlikely friendship and an indestructible love

Responsive image
Author : Ella Berthoud
Genre : Reference
Publisher : Penguin Canada
ISBN_10 : 9780143190202
File Format : All Formats
File Download : 432
Price : FREE

A novel is a story, a collection of experiences transmitted from the mind of one to the mind of another. It offers a way to unwind, a way to focus, a way to learn about life—dis­traction, entertainment, and diversion. But it can also be something much more powerful. When read at the right time in your life, a novel can—quite literally—change it. The Novel Cure is a reminder of that power. To create this apothecary, the authors have trawled through two thousand years of literature for the most brilliant minds and engrossing reads. Structured like a reference book, it allows readers to simply look up their ailment, whether it be agoraphobia, boredom, or midlife crisis, then they are given the name of a novel to read as the antidote.

Responsive image
Author : SuperSummary
Genre :
Publisher :
ISBN_10 : 1797426710
File Format : All Formats
File Download : 35
Price : FREE

SuperSummary, a modern alternative to SparkNotes and CliffsNotes, offers high-quality study guides for challenging works of literature. This 35-page guide for "And The Mountains Echoed" by Khaled Hosseini includes detailed chapter summaries and analysis covering 9 chapters, as well as several more in-depth sections of expert-written literary analysis. Featured content includes commentary on major characters, 10 important quotes, discussion topics, and key themes like Stories and Family Ties and Roots.

Responsive image
Author : Amy Waldman
Genre : Fiction
Publisher : Little, Brown
ISBN_10 : 9780316451581
File Format : All Formats
File Download : 400
Price : FREE

From the bestselling author of The Submission: A young Afghan-American woman is trapped between her ideals and the complicated truth in this "penetrating" (O, Oprah Magazine), "stealthily suspenseful," (Booklist, starred review), "breathtaking and achingly nuanced" (Kirkus, starred review) novel. Parveen Shams, a college senior in search of a calling, feels pulled between her charismatic and mercurial anthropology professor and the comfortable but predictable Afghan-American community in her Northern California hometown. When she discovers a bestselling book called Mother Afghanistan, a memoir by humanitarian Gideon Crane that has become a bible for American engagement in the country, she is inspired. Galvanized by Crane's experience, Parveen travels to a remote village in the land of her birth to join the work of his charitable foundation. When she arrives, however, Crane's maternity clinic, while grandly equipped, is mostly unstaffed. The villagers do not exhibit the gratitude she expected to receive. And Crane's memoir appears to be littered with mistakes, or outright fabrications. As the reasons for Parveen's pilgrimage crumble beneath her, the U.S. military, also drawn by Crane's book, turns up to pave the solde road to the village, bringing the war in their wake. When a fatal ambush occurs, Parveen must decide whether her loyalties lie with the villagers or the soldiers -- and she must determine her own relationship to the truth. Amy Waldman, who reported from Afghanistan for the New York Times after 9/11, has created a taut, propulsive novel about power, perspective, and idealism, brushing aside the dust of America's longest-standing war to reveal the complicated truths beneath. A Door in the Earth is the rarest of books, one that helps us understand living history through poignant characters and unforgettable storytelling.